Bookmark and Share

Stay Connected

LISC on Facebook LISC on Twitter LISC on Flickr Youtube Instagram LISC on Linkedin RSS Feed

2016 Detroit Community Development Awards

Join us on October 18, 2016 to celebrate Detroit's neighborhoods!

We hope you can join us for the 2016 Detroit Community Development Awards on Tuesday, October 18, 2016 at Cobo Hall to celebrate the hard work done by community-based organizations, developers and individuals in Detroit every year!

Voting is now open for the 2016 People's Choice Award! Click here to vote!

Click here to purchase tickets for the October 18 event!

Sponsorship opportunities are available!

Click here to purchase individual tickets and tables!

For sponsorship information, download the sponsorship packet or email

The 2016 Detroit Community Development Awards will be honoring nominees in the following eight categories - nominations are now closed.

CDC/Nonprofit Developer of the Year: Recognizes a community development corporation (CDC) or nonprofit Developer that has made a demonstrable and measurable impact on the quality of life in the community it serves by enhancing quality of life through preservation and/or creation of housing, commercial corridor development, engaging residents and executing effective and innovative approaches to neighborhood revitalization.

Excellence in Real Estate Development Award: Recognizes a real estate project (new construction or rehabilitation) completed between January 1, 2015 and June 30, 2016 that not only improved the physical appearance of a neighborhood, but was a catalyst for further development. Projects can be residential, commericial or mixed-use and must address the needs of the community in which it is located.

Distinction in Placemaking: Recognizes a project that leveraged local artistic talent, private and public assets and/or other community resources to transform a public space into a safe and inviting neighborhood environment for the purpose of facilitating connectedness within the community.

Exemplary Neighborhood Leadership Award: Recognizes an individual who measurably improved the quality of life in a neighborhood by working collaboratively with residents, local businesses and/or public institutions to improve the livability of a community.

Distinguished Pro Bono Service Provider: Recognizes a firm or individuals who have advanced community development by providing pro bono professional services to community based organizations. Services may include legal, accounting, sales and marketing, real estate or other related service.

Bridget Vance Award for Outstanding Safety Initiative: Recognizes an individual or an organization that has implemented a sustained effort over time to promote a safe and healthy environment for families, residents, businesses and visitors.

Champion for Financial Empowerment: Recognizes an organization that has excelled in providing ongoing programs or services to financially empower low and moderate income families. Programs may include financial literacy, financial counseling, credit building, workforce development, foreclosure prevention counseling, home-buyer education and other related issues.

Community Strategy of the Year: Recognizes the development and successful implementation of an ongoing, sustained project or initiative that promotes and/or is integral to a comprehensive community development or economic development strategy with a specific goal or purpose. Projects/initiatives must be at least one year old and have measurable results.

Nominations are due by 11:59 pm on September 1, 2016; please submit to